top of page

Fashionistas of Fordham

FEATURED STUDENT: Kristen Williams

FAST FACTS

Year: Freshman

From: Norwalk, Connecticut

Involvement:

Fashion for Philanthropy

Major: Undecided

How would you describe your style?

I would describe my style as trendy-casual with a bit of 90’s pop culture mixed in. I really like ripped jeans, graphic tees, leotards, and funky sunglasses. I'm not afraid of color and I like to wear warm tones, so a lot reds, yellows and oranges are incorporated into my outfits. I also like to throw surprising twists in through my choice of socks - I love socks that are unusual.

What accessory would you never leave the house without?

I would never leave the house without my sunglasses, even in the winter. My favorite sunglasses would have to be my reflective Ray-Ban aviators.

What is your favorite item of clothing that you have ever owned

Oh I remember that I had this light pink Kate Spade shift dress with cutouts on the side when I was a freshman in high school. I guess I just loved that dress because it was so versatile and it made me feel undoubtedly confident every time I put it on.

What are some fashion trends that you really like?

There are so many trends that I love right now. I am really into pieces with low-cut backs. Bodysuits and leotards are also awesome. Boyfriend jeans are an item that I reach for everyday and they are so cute. Mirrored sunglasses with bold lips also look amazing.

How does your love of makeup play into your style?

I think that makeup can make or break an outfit, but at the same time outfits can be dependent on makeup looks. My makeup usually changes depending on what i'm wearing. I would say that if you're wearing a bold color then you could keep pushing that color or go neutral with your lip color, or the reverse; if you're wearing all black you can go with a bold lip to stand out.

Who are your favorite style icons?

Karlie Kloss and Gigi Hadid definitely have good style they totally rock sunglasses and they take normal trends and wear them in unexpected ways. Christy Turlington from the 90’s also had awesome style and I really love to look at her old outfits for inspiration.


bottom of page